Fantasy · Reviews · Series Reviews

Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahere Mafi – Series Review

IMG_shatter me 2Series: Shatter Me Trilogy

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Young Adult Dystopian Fantasy

Shatter Me

shatter meJuliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days. The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color. The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Unravel Me

unravel me.jpgJuliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance. She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch. Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

Ignite Me

ignite meWith Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

stars

My Review

This series surprised me. The premise was interesting enough (x-men like powers in a dystopian setting? Sing me in 😉 )

Shatter Me was Ok, not quite what I expected but intriguing enough for me to push through the biggest thing that bother me with this book, its writing style. It’s annoyingly flowery.

Then I jumped into Unravel Me and Ignite Me, I was still a bit doubtful because of the first book and also because I knew there was a love triangle, and I really dislike them generally. But this triangle in particular was nicely done. It really hooked me to try to figure out how Juliette could fall for someone as awful as Warner, and then I knew how. This was the biggest 180 I have done with my feelings for a character, I really dislike him at firs and then ended up loving him, and understanding him and why he was like he was, I did find convenient how easily we got rid of Adam just for the sake of plot. He became so intolerable so easy.

The second and third book were full of action, we see the characters grow in to their powers, fighting back, having terrible loses and getting back up again and pushing through.

“Ignite, my love. Ignite.”

I would recommend to binge read the series like I did. I truly believe it helps not to leave the world until it’s all over. So, go ahead and try it and let me know what you think.

Happy Reading

Michelle

Leave a Reply

