Fantasy · Reviews · Series Reviews

A Court Of Thorns And Roses Series by Sarah J. Maas – Series Review

IMG_series acotarA Court of Thorns and Roses Series

By Sarah J. Maas

New Adult Fantasy

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses

13628024_171599699921714_197104198_nWhen nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

A Court of Mist and Fury

14073327_327960740879767_507696371_nFeyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

A Court of Wings and Ruin

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places. The earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

5-stars

My Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses or ACOTAR for short, it’s marketed as a Beauty and the Beast retelling and although I see why I’m not sure it’s a fair label to stick to this book. The story it’s much more than that but as I have found it’s the case with Sarah J. Maas’ work we don’t get to see the whole spectrum until we have read the next books.

What I like of this book is how beautifully descriptive it is, you can picture the characters and their surroundings quite easily. Even if we don’t go too far into Prythian (like in the next books). One of my favorite scenes is when Feyre meet the Bogge and the Suriel you can really feel the danger and creepiness of that moment.

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

My favorite characters when I first read this were Lucien and Rhysand, I love how loyal Lucien is and I thoroughly enjoyed the friendship that developed between him and Feyre. As for Rhysand you can say that it was the allure of the “bad boy”, I knew that there was more complexity ti his character and he was so clever in his remarks.

Tamlin, oh Tamlin! I know that he was alluring to Feyre (and through her eyes to us) but I didn’t feel it, he kept so much from her, he wanted her to be like a pretty caged bird, which I understand it might have been what she needed at the time but it bother me.

As for Feyre, I started liking her because she seemed strong and determined, she certainly had a lot on her shoulders with her family, and practically supporting them but she wasn’t bitter about it, however there came a point in the book that she got so dramatic that it annoyed me a bit.

“Has anyone ever taken care of you?” he asked quietly.
“No.” I’d long since stopped feeling sorry for myself about it.”

There were quite a few steamy parts that I liked even if I wasn’t a huge fan of the Tamlin and Feyre ship. I understood why they would fall for one another but it wasn’t a healthy relationship.

The pacing was a bit slow for me not much happening but bits and pieces, my favorite part of the book being when they were Under the Mountain. You do notice it’s the set up for more and yet it was enjoyable to me even viewed as a standalone.

A Court of Mist and Fury, ACOMAF for short. This book was everything ACOTAR wasn’t. We get immersed in the Fae world fully, we get to meet some of the courts and their dynamics, a bit of how they work.

The characters oh my God this is the core of this book, character growth and development. And we meet so many new and wonderful characters, Rhysand’s inner circle, they are so well put together and bring so much life to the story (everyone should have an inner circle like this, I want my own Cassian for sure).

“The issue isn’t whether he loved you, it’s how much. Too much. Love can be a poison.”

We finally see Tamlin as he really is (I don’t really dislike him even if he was very wrong in his dealings with Feyre) but I feel he has a lot of evolving to do.

“When you spend so long trapped in darkness, Lucien, you find that the darkness begins to stare back.”

Feyre was finally the badass I was expecting her to be and not only because of her new powers and everything but because she grew, she suffered quite the change and realize that things weren’t working and she needed to do something about it herself.

“To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

As for Rhysand ❤ He’s one of my favorite characters in a long time, he is so complex, incredibly smart, fiercely loyal, selfless and yet he also has some darkness and callousness when he needs it. He’s not black or white he moves in shades of grey and what great shades of grey they are (okay gushing over)

The relationship between Rhysand and Feyre was such a treat to witness, their banter, their through the roof chemistry, the slow building feelings, exactly what it needed to be.

The pacing was better than in ACOTAR and there was a bit more action and adventure in this one. The plot twists were certainly good and that ending..

This is by far my favorite book in the series.

Acotar-Acomaf instagram

A Court of Wings and Ruin, I’m officially making this my read of the month (shocking right?) so, its review will come separately as it deserves to be.

This is the ending of the Feyre and Rhysand arc of the ACOTAR series but we still have three more books to look forward to.

As always

Happy reading.

Michelle

 

3 thoughts on “A Court Of Thorns And Roses Series by Sarah J. Maas – Series Review

  1. I’m reading this series right now! I read book one ages ago and wasn’t that fussed but when ACOWAR came out, it was absolutely everywhere so I got pressured into buying books 2 & 3. I’ve now reread one (felt the same way as I did before), completely adored book two, and am enjoying three so far. So bizarre how series turn out sometimes.

    Like

    1. I know right? This is a great series but a lot of people don’t pass the first book for various reasons but they really don’t know what they are missing. If you like this type of fantasy I’m sure you’ll love Flame in The Mist by Renee Ahdieh I just read it and totally loved it

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I kind of get why people don’t make it past book one. I wouldn’t have had I not heard about how good book two was and well, if I hadn’t already spent money on the next two.
        Great, I’ll definitely pick up FITM soon then! Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

