Fantasy · Read of the Month · Reviews · Series Reviews

A Court Of Wings And Ruin By Sarah J. Maas – Read of the Month

acowarotmTitle: A Court of Wings and Ruin (ACOWAR)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Book Three in the ACOTAR Series

New Adult Fantasy

 

The Story

Foto 6-1-07 1 26 44 a.m.Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places. The earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

5-stars

My Review

“One life may change the world.”

I’m sorry about this but SPOILER ALERT Thank God everyone is okay, or as okay as they can be after that ending in ACOMAF. Okay, now on to the review, this is exactly how a story should end without really ending, I know it sounds weird but bear with me. We know that this series continues but with the main focus being other characters than Feyre and Rhysand so, this is what I mean with the ending without ending comment.

Anyway, I love these characters to pieces and they keep getting better and better. Feyre is as quite the badass again and so very like Rhysand, ruthless when those she loves are threatened, she keeps growing which makes her so very real and her evolution as a kick butt heroine it’s great and not sudden like in some other books I’ve read, it’s not because of her powers (which help of course) but because of the support she has from everyone, Rhysand, Cassian, Mor.

“You belong to all of us, and we belong to you.”

Rhysand is perfection as always, I can’t express how much I like his character. ❤ ❤ ❤

Lucien, yes! I got my Lucien back. In ACOMAF I had this feeling of loss regarding his character, he behaved badly while trying to be loyal to his friend Tamlin. But here, we got him back, he becomes Feyre’s friend again and eventually part of the inner circle.

The inner circle is better than ever, Cassian, Mor, Amren, everybody, they’re the support system we all wish we could have in real life. And they are very present in the story.

I finally stopped disliking Feyre’s sisters so much, well, in Nesta’s case what I enjoyed was the relationship she kind of had with Cassian because I don’t like her much yet but who knows that might change in the next books. As for Elain I’m not really in to the sort of love triangle that’s hinted here but we’ll see what comes for her.

“I have no regrets in my life, but this. That we did not have time. That I did not have time with you, Nesta. I will find you in the next world – the next life. And we will have that time. I promise.”

I always enjoy more the rromance between characters when they are getting together than when they are an established couple but Feyre and Rhysand are so adorable, and funny together that it great to see the as high lord and high lady. They have a great relationship, they don’t lose themselves in all the lovey dovey nonsense but instead helped each other be better and stronger.

The pacing was very good a lot happened in the first part of the book, action, intrigue, Feyre’s cunning was off the charts and had me in the edge of my seat, then it lulled for a bit while they were plotting just to pick up again and it was non stop battles and adventure. The main story was resolved quite well and there are so many things that can be develop in the upcoming books, like the cursed sixth human queen, and what the heck with the autumn court? And Lucien, I want more Lucien now that Rhys and Feyre have their HEA. I won’t get in to too much detail because you should experience this not just know about it. This has been hands down my read of the month (was there any doubt it would be? No, not at all 🙂 ) If you haven’t read this series (where have you been living? under a rock? ) do yourself a favor and go pick it up now.

And of course after ACOWAR I’m reduced to this.

Foto 6-4-17 4 28 31 p.m.

As always

Happy Reading

Michelle

One thought on “A Court Of Wings And Ruin By Sarah J. Maas – Read of the Month

  1. Pingback: May Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

