Book Recommendations · Bookish Ramblings

Favorite Bookish Tropes and some Recommendations

image

I recently discussed Bookish Tropes here on the blog, what they are, and why I think we love or hate them so much. I don’t mind them so much, in fact I happen to have a few favorites and of course some that I’m just tired of seeing everywhere. I wanted to share with you guys some of my favorite tropes, those that when present in a book will tip the scale in favour of me one clicking that book 😜 .

Let’s get started

Enemies to Lovers

This is hands down one of my favorite tropes. If it’s in a book I would most likely pick it up. I Love the push and pull, the angst, the scorching hot chemistry that’s usually a part of these types of stories, and if you add some witty banter I’m sold. They’re usually slow burning romances so that’s also a huge plus. Some other tropes that go quite nicely with the enemies to lovers are the revenge trope and the forbidden love trope.

If you love this trope I would suggest that you Check out:

  • Bully by Penelope Douglas (enemies to lovers at its best.. Or worse😉 )
  • Corrupt also by Penelope Douglas ( a bit of revenge thrown in the mix)
  • The Opposite of You by Rachel Higginson ( an adorable jerk Male character and such a great story)
  • Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray (a wonderful story with amazing characters)
  • A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet (a kidnapping, and a whole lot of adventure)

bully.jpgcorrupt.jpgopposite of you.jpgdefy the stars.jpga promise of fire

The Chosen/Saviour

This trope is quite common in fantasy, paranormal, dystopia. I quite enjoy this type of stories but they tend to bug me when the hero/heroine suddenly becomes the most kick ass warrior without any training whatsoever. Come on, people need to train. 😜

My Suggestions for this Trope are:

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses Series by Sarah J. Maas (my favorite read this year so far)
  • The Shatter Me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi (specially the last two books)
  • The Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • The Chicagoland Vampires by Chloe Neill
  • Frostblood by Elly Blake

The_ACOTAR_series.pngshatter-me-series.jpg

coveneant.jpg

CNeill-Chicagoland-Vampires.jpgfrostblood.jpg

The Wallflower and the Player

A very popular trope in New Adult, I’m a bit picky with this one I don’t like the on es that are too over the top. Some other tropes that go nicely together with the wall flower and the player are the performer trope (actors, musicians) and the unrequited love trope.

My Suggestions are:

  • The Off Campus Series by Elle Kennedy (so much goodness)
  • The Stage Dive Series by Kylie Scott (Rockstar Romance at its best)
  • The Royally Series by Emma Chase
  • The Game on Series by Kristen Callihan

off-campus-series.pngstage-dive

Royally-Screwed-FOR-WEB-220x360.jpggame-on.png

The Troubled Past Trope

Another popular one in New Adult, who wouldn’t like to read about over coming the odds? What might put me Off this trope it’s when the author just mixes every Bad thing that can happen to a person in just one character. It’s too much and not relatable at all.

My Suggestions are:

  • The Elements Series by Brittainy C. Cherry
  • The Damaged Control Series by Jo Raven
  • The Hades Hangmen Series by Tillie Cole
  • Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

elementsmicah.jpg

hades hangmen.jpg71XqNajxelL._SL1500_.jpg

Fairy Tale Retelling Trope

It’s become quite popular recently and I Love it, especially if it’s an uncommon retelling

My Suggestions are:

  • Hunted by Maegan Spooner
  • The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
  • Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh
  • The Wish Granter by C. J. Redwine

hunted by meagan spoonerthe wrath and the dawn.jpgflame in the mistwish granter cover

These are some of my favorite tropes, what about yours? Which ones do you like? Or which ones are you tired of seeing everywhere? Let me know in the comments I’m always looking for good recommendations to add to my TBR

As always

Happy reading

 

Michelle

Leave a Reply

