Contemporary · Reviews

Dirty By Kylie Scott – Book Review

bookdirtyTitle: Dirty

Author: Kylie Scott

Series: First Book in the Dive Bar series

New Adult Contemporary Romance

 

The Story

dirtyThe last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a broken hearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that comes with her.

Lydia Green doesn’t know whether to burn down the church or sit and cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it’s with his best man is another thing all together. She narrowly escapes tying the knot and meets Vaughan only hours later.

Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessman she thought she’d marry. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and unsettled. But she already tried Mr. Right and discovered he’s all wrong-maybe it’s time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

3.5-stars

My Review

My God, this book had me laughing out loud so much, it’s been a while since I read such a funny inner monologue. And let me tell you, Lydia our main protagonist is hysterically funny. I read all and loved Kylie Scott’s Stage Dive series so I knew that I would most likely enjoy this one, and it was a treat indeed. The banter between Vaughn and Lydia was so much fun, the whole gang of friends and families was so refreshing, adorable and hilarious, you want to be one of them. It’s something that I truly appreciate in a book, good side characters that you want to know more about and that help keep the story fluid and real. This book had them, Vaughn’s sister and his friends were great I can’t wait to know more about their life and how they’ll cope with the whole mess they got into. I also liked the small town feel of it, that sense of community and friendship.

“Thank god for coffee. Coffee understood. Coffee was my friend.”

The little flaws to me were the insta-love (they fall head over heels in just a week??) but I wasn’t as annoyed by this because their interactions were so filled with humour. From their meeting and Lydia’s discreet ogling of Vaughn’s “assets” while she’s in his bathtub and he’s naked in front of her until Vaughn’s obsession with Lydia’s breasts. It is filled with moments that will crack you up.

“You’ve got drama too?”
A shrug. “Doesn’t everyone?”
“A side effect of breathing, I guess?”

The other flaw was that the resolution felt a bit rushed to me, and this did bother me hence the 3.5 star rating. I wanted more. Nevertheless I would totally recommend this book if you’re looking for a fast fun and unpretentious read.

As always

Happy reading

Michelle

2 thoughts on “Dirty By Kylie Scott – Book Review

  1. This book has been my radar for a while. I loved The Stage Dive series, so I’m so curious about this new series. Sorry this didn’t work for you. I see your points, though, and I think I would feel the same. I don’t like instalove.

    Awesome review! 👍🏻❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

