Contemporary · Reviews

180 Seconds by Jessica Park – Book Review

book180.jpg

Title: 180 seconds

Author: Jessica Park

Standalone Contemporary

 

The Story

180 seconds.jpgSome people live their entire lives without changing their perspective. For Allison Dennis, all it takes is 180 seconds…After a life spent bouncing from one foster home to the next, Allison is determined to keep others at arm’s length. Adopted at sixteen, she knows better than to believe in the permanence of anything. But as she begins her third year in college, she finds it increasingly difficult to disappear into the white noise pouring from her earbuds.

One unsuspecting afternoon, Allison is roped into a social experiment just off campus. Suddenly, she finds herself in front of a crowd, forced to interact with a complete stranger for 180 seconds. Neither she, nor Esben Baylor, the dreamy social media star seated opposite her, is prepared for the outcome.

When time is called, the intensity of the experience overwhelms Allison and Esben in a way that unnerves and electrifies them both. With a push from her oldest friend, Allison embarks on a journey to find out if what she and Esben shared is the real thing—and if she can finally trust in herself, in others, and in love.

3.5-stars

My review

This review contains some spoilers. I don’t think it will damage your reading experience (it’s a bit obvious once you start reading that this will happen) but if you don’t like to be spoiled you were warned.

This book is a bit hard for me to review, it has quite a few things that I like and can relate too, it has that theme that kicks me right in the feels (I cried with this and I’m not a crier) and it has some things that utterly piss me off.

“It’s going to hurt until it doesn’t anymore.”

Let me start with what I like, the concept of it Esben our male protagonist it’s a huge social media star, he has a blog that he uses to promote good causes and help people. I liked how this was presented in the book, now days social media has so much impact in everyday life affecting what we like what we don’t, how we feel about certain topics, what we support, and it’s so easy to get lost in all the bad, all the hate that seeing here how positive it can be, it was refreshing and uplifting.

I could relate with Allison being such a closed off introvert (I’m a bit like that myself) and I understood her quite well.

On to the spoiler Allison’s best friend Steffi her rock and her only link to the world for a long time was sick when she was a child, she had cancer but got through it. However she gets sick again and eventually dies. This is the kick in the feels that I talked about, this is my Achilles heel, terminal diseases in books. I’ m not a crier but when an important character is sick and you feel them deteriorate. That just kills me, I just start sobbing and can’t stop. This happen with this book, I knew it was coming but I couldn’t stop.

So far so good right? Well, not so much. What really pissed me off about this book was that everyone (and I do mean everyone) was perfect, they were good looking, had money, they were kind, smart, loyal, helpful, patient, even freaking virgins. They were so unrealistically good that it cheapened the story a bit for me.

Overall it’s a nice read and it will hit you in some points so, if you can overlook excessively perfect characters you might want to give this a try

As always

Happy reading

 

Michelle

One thought on “180 Seconds by Jessica Park – Book Review

Leave a Reply

