Book Tags and Lists · Bookish Ramblings · Discussions

Books That Made Me Watch Anime

foto-anime.jpg

Unusual title, right? Who would have thought that these two very different things would mix? But inspiration is a funny thing, we get inspired by the smallest things to pick up or talk about the most peculiar subjects, like in this case I decided to use my sudden Fantasy Anime Fever to ramble about.

A while back a friend of mine (whom I have roped into doing a review for me that will coming out soon, I hope) that after reading Six Of Crows he felt like watching some Anime series, the setting of the book drove him to it, and the characters felt a bit like Anime characters to him.

I’m not by any means Anime savvy or anything in fact I can say that I haven’t a clue about a lot of things involving Anime. However, I do enjoy watching them, from time to time I even have a few favorites but I have never felt that a book inspired me to watch them.

anime gifA movie or TV Series? Yes, that has happened to me, actually it’s quite frequent that if I’m reading New Adult or some sort of Rom Com type of Book I get the urge to watch something similar in a movie. A while ago I was very into an MC book series and ended up watching Sons of Anarchy again (Which I Love by the way)

Music? Of course, I like to play around with songs that might fit the mood of the book I’m reading. I usually have a few Playlists for a couple of books, I even use a few of the Author’s when they fit my tastes in music.

But Anime? It hadn’t happened, until recently that is. I can’t really say if it was because I’ve been reading so many good fantasy books and I really didn’t want to leave that kind of world and I really wasn’t finding any other outlet at the time and some Anime series fit (at least to some degree) with what I was reading. That’s one of the things I enjoy about it you can find an anime about every single fantastic creature or setting out there, vampires, demons, magic, empires, ghosts, I could go on and on.

The thing is that I’m now in my book inspired Anime kick and I wanted to share with you guys the ones that I’ve been enjoying and the books that drove me to them, give all this a purpose of sorts. Like I said before inspiration is a funny thing so we have to take advantage of it.

Some of this might be new, some might have been around for a while. I did mention that my knowledge regarding this is a bit lacking, these are just some that I enjoyed after reading a particular book.

Chain Chronicle: Haecceitas No Hikari

chain chronicle

This is Yggdra, a continent at the farthest ends of the earth. The residents of this land believed that it was the entire world. The continent was divided into territories, with a king ruling over each. Even though small battles broke out between each of the powers, balance was maintained by the Holy King, a leader chosen by the kings of the round table. That is, until the demons of darkness, the Black Army appeared…

Akatsuki No Yona or Yona of the Dawn

akatsuki no yona

Yona is a princess of the Kingdom of Kouka who has lived a sheltered life. When the love of her life murders her father and steals his throne, Princess Yona’s life changes forever. Forced to flee her home with only her faithful bodyguard Hak, Yona embarks on a quest to reclaim her throne.

Akatsuki no Yona takes place in a setting reminiscent of feudal China, and follows Yona as she struggles to relate to a people she’s desperately out of touch with. It bears many similarities to Akagami no Shirayuki Hime, particularly the lead character! Both Yona and Shirayuki are thrust into uncomfortable situations, but as is suggested by their red hair, both leads are strong-willed and determined enough to overcome any obstacle.

Guilty Crown

guilty-crown.jpg

With the collapse of the previous government, a private military organisation known as the GHQ has established itself as the only authority in Japan and as expected of people under despotic rule, a rebel faction known as Funeral Parlor arose in order to combat the GHQ. When Shu meets a member of Funeral Power, it quickly becomes evident that he has the power to draw the manifestations of people’s personalities, known as “Voids” and now, armed with his newfound power, Shu is hurled into the war to reclaim Japan.

Owari No Seraph or Seraph of the End

owari no seraph

When a mysterious virus killing people above the age of 13 spreads, humanity becomes subjugated by vampires, who swore protection in exchange for blood. Yuu and Mika, raised in an orphanage, plan to escape from the vampire’s grasp together with their siblings. Something goes wrong, though, and Yuu is the only one who manages to escape, leaving behind his “family”. From that moment onward, a lot of happenings keep the viewers glued to the screen cheering for Yuu who now wants to get revenge against vampires

Madan No Ou To Vanadis

madan no ou to vanadis

During the medieval days, Western Europe was almost always in conflict. Lord Marksman and Vandadis is set during one of those wars. It follows the tale of Eleanora “Ellen” Vertalia, as she takes place in battle after battle, with the powerful weapon that the Black Dragon has gifted her.

Shingeki No Kyojin or Attack on Titan

shingeki-no-kyojin

Attack on Titan is about mankind almost being extinct several hundred years ago by giant humanoid creatures called titans. The titans are several stories tall, and resemble a regular human being. They also appear to have no intelligence whatsoever while they devour any human in its sight, the worst thing about it all, is the titans seem to kill for the pleasure of it and not as a source for food.

Time goes by and humanity has been reduced to a very small percentage of survivors who built great walls to protect themselves from invasion of the titans. These walls are taller than the biggest of all titans. The story then follows Eren, Armin, and Mikasa, three kids who have seen the devastation first hand from the colossal titan that appears out of thin air and puts a hole in one of the walls.

Because of seeing what has happened and knowing he can do something to help, he vows to kill every single last titan in order to take revenge for the death of his mother and what they have done against humanity.

And here’s the list of the few books that in some way fed this unusual Anime kick I’m going through.

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses Series by Sarah J Maas.
  • FrostBlood by Elly Blake
  • The Traitor’s Kiss by Erin Beaty
  • Defy the Stars By Claudia Gray
  • Flame in the Mist By Renee Ahdieh
  • Brave New Girl by Rachel Vincent

frostblooddefy the stars61mM7VSKe6L._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_Acowarflame in the mist513vPrnJmeL._SY346_darkest minds

I want to make clear that these books or Animes are not similar to each other but they might share little things like a sci/fi or fantastic setting, magic, a war against an evil force, that kept me in the same place.

So if you like Anime or just happened to have a weird reflection like mine check them out. Or just enjoy the books that caused this rambling post, I can say, in all honesty, that they are great stories that will keep you hooked.

Has this ever happened to you? Have you felt the need to watch something similar to what you were reading? Let me know all about it in the comments.

As Always

Happy Reading and Watching

Michelle

Leave a Reply

