Fantasy · Reviews · Series Reviews

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo Series Review – Guest Reviewer

img_series-six-of-crows.jpg

Six Of Crows Duology 

By Leigh Bardugo

Young Adult Fantasy
  • Six Of Crows
  • Crooked Kingdom

 

six of crows

I don’t usually recommend books to my friends, I don’t like the pressure and anguish (dramatic much 😉 ) that I feel wondering if they might like it or not but when you find books as great as Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom you have to spread the love because it is a worthy endeavour. 

That’s what happened here, Rafael (my guest and kind of roped in guest reviewer for this post) and I like talking about books we are currently reading, when I told him that he should read Six of Crows and why, he decided to pick it up since it was a very rare event (me recommending a book) I was so glad he enjoyed it as much as I did that I told him to write a review about it to post on my blog because I thought it would be cool to have a different perspective from a recommended book ( and he did )

stars

Rafael’s Review of The Six Of Crow Duology by Leigh Bardugo 

Chelle and I talk about books a lot, which book is good or bad, which we liked and which will be discarded for all times or at least until we run out of new things to read. We do this back and forth about books a lot and I do mean a lot!! And yet she has never ever recommended a book to me directly (I have though recommended her the Witcher’s saga which she has yet to read) until the Six of Crows’ Duology by Leigh Bardugo and I have to say that it was a good recommendation.

There is this new kind of fantasy books that tend to fall outside the classical scheme, there is no more classical Knight fighting a dragon along with a wizard with pointy hat, throwing fireball or wingardium leviosá, or whatever. Now, fantasy books tend to think outside the box and not necessarily have to be epic fantasy.

Six of crows is one of this new type of fantasy. There is not an end of the world to stop or a dark lord to defeat but six “heroes” trying to pull a heist against impossible odds, in an unconquerable fortress. This is one of the things that makes this book really good: the setting.

The world where the six of crows’ saga is set is amazing!!! It’s quite refreshing to read about Western Europe or Asian kind of countries. The history, the mythology, the way how magic works and how those magicians are treated is something really new. There are other books by same author, The Grisha trilogy I believe it’s called, set in the same world but I don’t think I´m going to read them. Why? Well, it leads to the second part of this review.

“No mourners. No funerals. Among them, it passed for ‘good luck.”

The thing is… I kind of hate the teen hero trope!!! Especially when there is a growing pain, love triangle or when the hero behaves like a spoiled brat!!! I believe that this is the case in the Grisha trilogy, but it’s certainly not the case in Six of Crows!!!! The protagonists are kids, the older one is 17 years old, but they do not behave like kids!!! Some are gangster, some are soldiers, some are spies and some are just in the wrong place at the wrong time… and that is one of the things that make these books a really good read: they have great characters with a good development (some more than others) And the fact that they are kids sometimes made me feel like I was reading/watching an anime series.

The narrative is good. Every chapter is narrated in third person in the perspective of one of the main protagonist. One thing that I kind of disliked is that they have too much retrospective. Especially the first book, it messes up a bit with the pacing of the book. Despite that, the book it quite thrilling! With action and plots and schemes and double crosses that make you want to read more, even with so much retrospective thing…

“When everyone knows you’re a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.”

Ever since Harry Potter and the goblet of fire somebody has to die in a book to make more drama and stuff and this books are not the exception… both Chelle and I agree that in this case the death was unnecessary and a bit stupid!!! Just another trope to make people say “why?” Buuu huuuu!!!!”… Just for the sake of drama.. Lame…

I gave these books a four out of five stars!!!! Four and thirty three if you believe in decimals of stars. I do recommend reading the two books in a row, one after the other so you do not to lose the pace. Like it happened to Chelle who read them separately and did not enjoy the second one as much as I did.

If you like this review, please do not forget to subscribe, comment or follow Chelle’s Blog. And if you enjoyed it let her Know in the comments. Please be gentle, remember it’s my first time in the book review world!!!!

rafa

Thanks to Rafael for his contribution to my little blog and if you’re interested in reading more from him let me know and i’ll recruit him again, in the meantime you can check his work at Lifeder.com where he write about Chemistry (it’s all in Spanish so be warned in case you do not speak the language)

As Always

Happy Reading

Michelle

 

Leave a Reply

