Fantasy · Reviews

Roar By Cora Carmack – Book Review

bookcover roar

Title: Roar

Author: Cora Carmack

1st Book in the Stormheart Series

Young Adult Fantasy

The Story

roar.jpgIn a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

stars

My Review

This was The kind of Fantasy that I’ve been wanting to read since Flame in the Mist and ACOWAR, those books left  a hole in me and it’s been hard to get into Fantasy involving magic until this book. It’s not perfect, it had some things that annoyed me a little bit but it had so much more that I liked.

“You are lightning made flesh. Colder than falling snow. Unstoppable as the desert sands riding the wind. You are Stormling, Aurora Pavan. Believe it.”

Let me start by talking about the magic system in this book, it was a different approach to the elemental magic that we are used to. It involves Storms as living things, with hearts and souls, and you can use them to gain magic or just be born with an affinity to a certain type of storm and control it in a way. I loved this, it was refreshing, and exciting. You read about the power of Twisters, and Hurricanes, and Thunderstorms and how to hunt them, trap them, which I think it’s been an ambition of mankind for a long time (to try and control nature).

I don’t want to get too much in the plot because I don’t want to spoil anything but be warned that what you might think when you start this it will be totally different as you go along, it has quite a few layers that merely start to develop since it is just the first book. The setting up of the villain in the background was very good and creepy and it balanced everything else that was going on. Pay attention to everything, it has a lot of information that shouldn’t be missed.

There’s a lot of fun, humour and action when we get to the Storm Hunters Crew, it was exhilarating to read about them fighting storms, and how good and in sync with each other they were while doing it.

The characters were another treat, I love the Crew, they were so diverse and yet they totally clicked with one another, it reminded me a bit of the Six Of Crow Crew (a bit milder but the relationship was a bit like that) I hope that we get to see more of them in the next book. Nova (our main character’s best friend and servant) she has so many secrets and my heart broke with all that happened to her just because she was trying to help her friend, I can’t wait to know more about her.

At first, when I started to read this book I thought that it was just going to be another love triangle, and I’m so tired of those. We have Cassius, Roar and Locke but it’s not, at least not right now (let’s hope that doesn’t change)

To be completely honest I really liked the chemistry between Roar and Cassius more than Roar and Locke ( I might be biased because I love bad boys) but the relationship between Roar and Locked grows on you, it slowly develops which it’s another big plus for me, no insta nothing anywhere in sight. I did find Locked a bit over protective at times and it bugged me a little but I managed to get past it, in some degree it is an understandable reaction on his part due to what he went through with his family.

And to finish this looong and rambling review I’m going to talk about Roar (Aurora) She is the typical YA protagonist at first, unsure of herself  because she lacks magic or that’s what she thinks because ultimately she’s quite powerful. She annoyed me a little because she was self-centered (it felt like that to me) but she slowly (and I do mean slowly) start to change, how she sees the world around her, how she sees herself. She has the potential to be a bad ass but she’s not in this book, which felt real to me because you can’t be kick ass in a matter of days you have to grow into your own to achieve that. The pacing of her growth is as I said a slow one, she’s still doing it by the end of the book and it leaves you thinking how is she going to deal with all the mess that’s coming? Quite the set up for the second book.

So, if you want to read a refreshing YA fantasy with diverse characters, great world building, unique magic system and a little romance, I urge you to check this out.

As Always

Happy Reading.

Michelle

 

 

Leave a Reply

