Fantasy · Reviews

The Wish Granter By C. J. Redwine – Book Review

wishgranterbrTitle: The wish granter

Author: C. J. Redwine

Series: 2nd Book in the Ravenspire Series

Young Adult Fantasy

The Story

The world has turned upside down for Thad and Ari Glavan, the bastard twins of Súndraille’s king. Their mother was murdered. The royal family died mysteriously. And now Thad sits on the throne of a kingdom whose streets are suddenly overrun with violence he can’t stop.

Growing up ignored by the nobility, Ari never wanted to be a proper princess. And when Thad suddenly starts training Ari to take his place, she realizes that her brother’s ascension to the throne wasn’t fate. It was the work of a Wish Granter named Alistair Teague who tricked Thad into wishing away both the safety of his people and his soul in exchange for the crown.

So Ari recruits the help of Thad’s enigmatic new weapons master, Sebastian Vaughn, to teach her how to fight Teague. With secret ties to Teague’s criminal empire, Sebastian might just hold the key to discovering Alistair’s weaknesses, saving Ari’s brother—and herself.

 

My Review

Like I’ve commented on previous posts, I’m a sucker for retellings 😉 And when I saw that this was a Rumpelstiltskin retelling, I had to let my grabby hands pick it up.

It was good in general, it had a lot of witty humour, and I really liked Ari our main protagonist. She was strong, loyal, with a take no prisoners kind of attitude when it came to protect her loved ones.

Learning how to put out a man’s eye, very romantic stuff ,Thad, very romantic.

Sebastian was a bit flat for me, I didn’t hate him but he was Meh! He had a potentially good story but he just didn’t quite stand out like I would have liked.

The chemistry between them wasn’t spark worthy, it was too clean cut, something was missing. The action and adventure was what I enjoyed the most even though the big climax didn’t have the impact I was expecting.

It was okay, I liked this story better than The Shadow Queen, which is weird since I enjoyed the romance in this much less.

If you’re into retellings and want something not overly done check this one out.

Happy Reading

Michelle

Leave a Reply

