Bookish Ramblings · Monthly Wrap Ups and TBRs

December and January Wrap Up

Foto d j wrap

Hey everyone!! My tech issues have been resolved (more or less, I guess beating the crap out of my computer work?? — kidding — ) And, yes you read right I’m doing my December 2017 wrap up in February… sorry about that… I’m the queen of procrastination… I could have ignore it but I wanted to make a point with it because I was doing my reading without a TBR and I truly believed it was going to be an awesome reading month and it wasn’t ..  it was average I guess. In fact, I’m noticing that I’m reading more when I organise my monthly TBR than when I don’t so I’m sticking to my TBR plan from last year….

Ok, enough rambling and let me get to the wrap ups…

December 2017 Wrap Up

I know that some of you were intrigued to find out how my TBRless December went but like I mentioned before I was a bit disappointed because I thought it was going to be better than it actually was… I talked the good talk but in the end being without a TBR gave me the same result than having one… but I think it was mostly because I was in the greatest life slump ever..

Yes, you read that right.. a life slump… I was not in the mood for anything…Thank God that it is over now, I guess it was stuck with a bit of Holiday blues..

Let’s get back on track and talk bookish things, I read 6 books in December and finished (more or less) 1 Manga…Not bad all, things considered… They were all good (some more than others, as it’s usually the case) and only one ended up being a huge let down…

Here’s the little list

  • Roomies – Christina Lauren – 4 stars

I loved this book, it was fun, sweet, quite entertaining but the ending felt a bit rushed … I don’t know it all just happened too fast.

  • Monster among Roses – Linda Kage – 2 stars

I’ve enjoyed every book I’ve read by Linda Kage but this Beauty and the Beast retelling was awful for me.. I liked the reverse roles but that was it… I still don’t know how I managed to finish it.

  • Undone – Wendy Higgins – 3.5 stars

I finish a trilogy.. Yaayyy!! Lately I’ve been feeling like all I do is start new series and never finish them, so reading the final book for this trilogy was great.. I’m doing a full review on the books later on but if you like aliens in a dystopian setting pick this up.

  • The Shattered Court – M. J. Scott – 3 stars

Another new series (I can’t scape them) Good story it was like reading a medieval romance with some magic thrown into it..

  • Bad Habit – Charleigh Rose – 3 stars

I love this kind of book.. I hate you but I can’t help myself and I also want you kind of thing…but this one had me eye rolling a lot of the time, it was just a passing time story.

  • A Different Blue – Amy Harmon – 3 stars

I wanted to like this book more because it has a beautiful message but I was missing something, maybe I couldn’t quite connect with the characters or I was just in the wrong frame of mind.

The Manga I finished was Hana – Kun to Koisuru, I read all 42 chapters but it’s still ongoing (I think) so I’ll have to wait for more… it was a sweet unrequited school love story… I really liked the characters and the flow of the relationship… I gave it a 3.5 stars

moon readerdwrap

January 2018 Wrap Up

As for the month of January, it surprised me how dutiful I was with my TBR… I read most of the books that I set out to read and only squirrel my way out of one (Which worked wonders for my reading challenge)… I had trouble with others because I received them later than I was hoping and I guess they got stuck in reading limbo but I’ll eventually get to them… ( Every reader’s life motto right?? ) As for the quality of what I read, it was average.. I had huge favorites and a couple of disappointments, I read a total of 6 books and 1 Manga… but let me get to the list and explain it further

51HhSyLft-L  51FVOvYrUuL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_  61XESCYTzKL

  • Heart on Fire – Amanda Bouchet – 3 Stars

I wanted to love this book, since it was the ending of the trilogy but I didn’t.. I have a long and detailed review if you want to know more but let me just say that even when I liked some of the action, banter, and beloved characters the book left me wondering about a lot of things and it felt rushed at times… not so great for a finale.

  • Cruel Prince – Holly Black – 4 Stars

I love this book, it’s my first Holly Black book and now I want to go and check out her other work… I love the world, the intrigue, the ambiguity of the characters… check out my gushing review for more fangirling…

  • Busted – Gina Ciocca – 3 Stars

I have to confess that what made me pick this book up was the comparison between this story and Veronica Mars (I loved that TV Show) but this was just and OK book… it had too much drama (and not really good drama but more like silly drama to me) It was a fun picking and leaving kind of read.

  • 4 Letter Words – J. Daniels – 4 Stars 

I liked this book a lot, it is angsty, it is roll your eyes drama at times but the way it is written it’s addicting.. I finished it in one day.

  • Uncharted – Julie Johnson – 2.5 Stars

This was the biggest disappointment of this month.. I love books about survival, and romances about people stranded somewhere (an island in this case) but this one was lacking in the character department and if you can connect with the characters in a book like this then the story suffers a lot. Here’s my Review.

  • Hate to Love you – Tijan – 3.5 Stars

This one was a college new adult romance, but it has so much going on that you don’t know what to actually expect. I really enjoyed the whole living on campus and college experience (the good, the bad and the ugly) portrait here but I had a few misgivings about the female character ( she got on my nerves a lot )

My manga read for the month was Zettai Heiwa Daisakusen and I have a whole review of it here.. I loved it, it was adorable and funny… I truly enjoy it even if it was monotonous at times.

34853951  28963772  170640

That’s all for now… Good reading months so far ( nothing over the top but with work and everything I think I’m making good Progress ) Hope I can keep it up… How about you guys how was your January reading?? Let me know all about it…

As Always

Happy Reading

signature

 

 

12 thoughts on “December and January Wrap Up

  1. I felt like I got the holiday blues too! I recently just got my motivation back and I’m glad to hear that you did to! You had a great month despite everything. I like having a TBR just to have an idea of what I want to read but not like truly sticking with it. Like its a loose TBR? I don’t even know if that makes sense.

    I hope February is a better month for you!

    Tina @ As Told By Tina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Holidays are hard and they usually hit me with a bit of the blues… Thank God they are over… And I do get what you mean.. I do that too with my TBR but I’ve been good and have stuck to most of the books That I put on my list but it’s not like it’s written in stone or anything.. 🙂

      Like

  2. The Cruel Prince would be my first book by Holly Black and it’s on my TBR. I also love the cover and idea of Busted, so I hope to get to this book too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment