Bookish Ramblings · Discussions

The Diversity Conundrum

Foto 8-12-15 5 24 05 p.m.

Hello again fellow Bookworms, I’m back with another discussion/rant that might be on the controversial side of things.. We seem to be living in a world where we scream for diversity in every book, tv show, movie, you name it.. And I do have my extensive opinions about that subject and how it is handled — or more like shove down our throats (Taking Diversity too far?True Diversity, True Representation)

Believe I don’t mind having diverse characters, settings, storylines, I do get slightly irritated when it’s not a natural flow of the story I’m consuming but something forced, but that isn’t quite the point of this post.. Not at all, this has more to do with how we get looked down or branded as a monster for not being “Diverse” enough with your reading/reviewing.

descarga

So I took it upon myself to find out if I am a “diverse reader”… Or Not..

Let’s define first what the heck diversity truly is..

 “Understanding that each individual is unique, and recognizing our individual differences. These can be along the dimensions of race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, socio-economic status, age, physical abilities, religious beliefs, political beliefs, or other ideologies.”
Coming from that definition alone, I am quite the diverse reader.. I’m a Latin American Book Blogger, so technically just reading english books is being diverse for me (Culture ideologies beliefs, etc).. Plus I also enjoy reading Manga and Comics which is another layer of diversity there (Media plus culture) Not to mention my weakness when it comes to romance be it MF, MM, MFM, FF (sexual orientation)
Being diverse is something fluid, It doesn’t necessary mean fitting into a square of a particular culture ( like only reading POC authors ) I’m not lessening the importance of actually pushing people to read more diversly, or consuming more diverse content on their media but as I have often discuss.. let it be a true diversity and a true representation of culture and background..
And please don’t put down the rest of us for not fitting into the tiny square that you think it’s being a diverse reader..
That’s all for my ranting today, leave your comment down below.. I’m interested to know your thoughts and don’t forget if you want to help me keep on creating and making you at least smile a bit with my quirky posts just buy me a coffee (Ko-fi page) and support my work.

As Always
Happy Reading
signature

One thought on “The Diversity Conundrum

Leave a comment